Celebrating Life on the Homefront – 15 & 16 Jul 2017
Tea House in the Woods
Tea House in the Woods Coronation Road - Woodhall Spa Events
About the Venue
Among the many buildings erected here in the Edwardian period, was the charmingly named and prettily constructed Teahouse in the Woods. The two ladies who ran it were daughters of a London clergyman and sisters of Dr. Williams, Superintendent of the Spa Baths. They came here every year to manage the Teahouse for the Season, until in 1913, it was reported “they had bought it outright.” Looking at postcards and by all accounts, it was a delightful feature of the village, situated not far from the Broadway and on the way to the Baths. The Misses Williams were charming hostesses, wearing long, lavender coloured gowns with little muslin aprons and picture hats. Everything about the place was dainty and the delicacies served were of the highest quality. The wooden verandah was edged by attractive, slim wooden arches and there were several rustic tables on the lawns where visitors might be joined by scurrying red squirrels scampering around the trees. The building also housed a tasteful Fancy Goods shop with some of the Misses Williams embroidery on display. There was also a lending library.
After a variety of owners in the twentieth century, the Teahouse became “Macauley`s at Teahouse in the Woods”, followed by Restuarante Il Parco and then back to the Tea House in the Woods in the twenty first.
Behind the building there is a path, running alongside a stream, which stretches past the side of Petwood. It used to be a very pretty walk when Petwood grounds were visible and it is still a pleasant stroll along the side of the Bracken Golf Course.